The Four Noble Truths:

1. Dukkha (Suffering) informs the whole of human life

2. The cause of this suffering is Tanha (Desire)

3. Nibbana exists as a way out of this predicament

4. The Eight-Fold Path leads from suffering and pain to its cessation in the state of Nibbana

The Eight-Fold Path:

Sila (Morality)

  1. Right Speech
  2. Right Action
  3. Right Livelihood

Samadhi (Meditation)

  1. Right Effort
  2. Mindfulness
  3. Concentration

Panna (Wisdom)

  1. Right Understanding
  2. Right Resolve

Source: Buddha by Karen Armstrong


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s